This award recognizes the individuals who have worked throughout their careers to advance the professional status of clinical chemists and the professional objectives of the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM, formerly AACC).

Congratulations to the 2024 Winner

2024 Outstanding Contributions Through Service to the Profession of Clinical ChemistryDavid G. Grenache, PhD, D(ABCC), FADLM

David G. Grenache, PhD, D(ABCC), FADLM, is a clinical chemist with a career marked by significant achievements and leadership roles in clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine. He is currently the Chief Scientific Officer at TriCore Reference Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico overseeing scientific research projects and driving technological advancements. Additionally, he holds positions as Laboratory Director for TriCore’s flagship Core Laboratory, Medical Director of Immunology and of Point-of-Care Testing, and Clinical Professor of Pathology at the University of New Mexico.

Dr. Grenache obtained his education from the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts and Worcester Polytechnic Institute before completing a Fellowship in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine at Washington University in St. Louis. He has held academic and leadership roles at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the University of Utah, and ARUP Laboratories.

With over 150 peer-reviewed publications and presentations at national and international conferences, Dr. Grenache has made meaningful contributions to the scientific community. He has held leadership positions in the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Scientists and Physicians, the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute, and ADLM, for which he served as President from 2020 to 2021. Dr. Grenache’s term as the association’s president coincided with the coronavirus pandemic of 2020 and, as such, he helped lead the association through a period of turbulence and uncertainty.

Dr. Grenache has received many awards for research, teaching, and service including the Gerald T. Evans Award for Outstanding Leadership (ACLPS), the Excellence in Mentoring in Standards Development Award (CLSI), the SYCL Mentorship Award (AACC), Outstanding Contributions to Pediatric and Maternal-Fetal Clinical Chemistry (AACC), and a UNIVANTS of Healthcare Excellence Award of Distinction.

In his free time, he finds joy in capturing the scenic landscapes of the southwestern United States through photography.

Previous Winners

2023 - Patricia M. Jones, PhD
2022 - James D. Faix, MD
2021 - Salvador F. Sena, PhD, DABCC, FADLM
2020 - Martin Fleisher
2019 - Mario Plebani, MD
2018 - Fred S. Apple, PhD
2017 - Ian Young, MD
2016 - Larry A. Broussard, PhD
2015 - Graham H. Beastall, PhD
2014 - James C. Boyd, MD
2013 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
2012 - John E. Sherwin, PhD
2011 - Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
2010 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
2009 - Donald S. Young, PhD
2008 - Susan A. Evans, PhD
2007 - Mathias Müller, MD
2006 - Gary L. Myers, PhD, FADLM
2005 - Roland Valdes, PhD
2004 - Karen L. Nickel, PhD
2003 - Frank A. Sedor, PhD
2002 - David Uddin, PhD
2001 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
2000 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
1999 - Jean C. Joseph, PhD
1998 - Jacob B. Levine
1997 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
1996 - Lawrence M. Killingsworth, PhD
1995 - Roger Boeckx, PhD
1994 - K. Michael Parker, PhD
1993 - Gerald Gallwas
1992 - K. Owen Ash, PhD
1991 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1990 - Ronald H. Laessig, PhD
1989 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1988 - Sylvan M. Sax, PhD
1987 - Henry Wishinsky, PhD
1986 - Sylvia Blatt
1985 - Raymond E. Vanderlinde, PhD
1984 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1983 - Albert Dietz, PhD
1982 - Alfred H. Free, PhD
1981 - Samuel Meites, PhD
1980 - Willard Faulkner, PhD
1979 - Royden N. Rand, PhD
1978 - Joseph S. Annino
1977 - Joseph H. Boutwell, MD, PhD
1976 - Robert S. Melville, PhD
1975 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1974 - Joseph Benotti
1973 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1972 - George T. Lewis, PhD
1971 - Miriam Reiner, PhD
1970 - William B. Mason, PhD
1969 - Robert L. Dryer, PhD
1968 - Harold D. Appleton, PhD
1967 - Max M. Friedman, PhD
1966 - Margret M. Kaser, PhD