Outstanding Contributions to Education in Clinical Chemistry

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of his/her professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education. The educator selected for this award has made significant, innovative, and/or cumulatively outstanding contributions to education in clinical laboratory science. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient's excellence which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing, and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences.

Congratulations to the 2023 Winner

Gary L. Horowitz, MD Gary L. Horowitz, MD

Gary L. Horowitz, MD, is Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. He recently stepped down from his position as Chief of Clinical Pathology at Tufts Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts, but he continues to work part-time in clinical chemistry there. He received his AB from Harvard College and his MD from Harvard Medical School. He did his residency in clinical pathology at Beth Israel Hospital and became the director of clinical chemistry there, where he remained for 35 years. In 2017, he joined the faculty at Tufts Medical Center and Tufts University School of Medicine.

Dr. Horowitz has been active in several organizations over the course of his career. He served as chair of the CAP Chemistry Resource Committee and of the CAP Accuracy-Based Committee. He also chaired the CLSI working group preparing the 2008 revised edition of the document on reference intervals, which led to his authoring the chapter on reference intervals in the Tietz textbooks in clinical chemistry over two editions. He was a faculty member for the the AACC Professional Practice in Clinical Chemistry Review Course twice, and he joined a small group of fellow clinical chemistry directors to three countries in Asia as part of the AACC Global Lab Quality Initiative. He is the proud recipient of several teacher of the year awards from pathology residents at the Beth Israel and Tufts programs. Over the past several years, he co-edited the Clinical Case Study and What Is Your Guess sections of Clinical Chemistry.

Dr. Horowitz is especially honored to receive this award, noting that his passion for clinical chemistry is fueled not only by the remarkable ongoing innovations in the field but also by insights he gains from each new generation of students, residents, fellows, and clinical colleagues with whom he works.

Previous Winners

2022 - David S. Hage, PhD
2021 - Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC, FADLM
2020 - Roger Bertholf, PhD
2019 - William A. Clarke, PhD
2018 - Thomas Annesley, PhD
2017 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
2016 - Ann M. Gronowski, PhD
2015 - Nader Rifai, PhD
2014 - Michael L. Astion, PhD
2013 - David E. Bruns, MD
2012 - David B. Sacks, MD
2011 - Edward R. Ashwood, MD
2010 - Amitava Dasgupta, PhD
2009 - Michael Laposata, MD
2008 - William E. Winter, MD
2007 - Craig A. Lehmann, PhD
2006 - Catherine A. Hammett-Stabler, PhD
2005 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD
2004 - Larry Broussard, PhD
2003 - Paul Wolf, MD
2002 - Alan Wu, PhD
2001 - Lawrence M. Silverman, PhD
2000 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
1999 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
1998 - Christopher P. Price, PhD
1997 - Christopher S. Frings, PhD
1996 - Oren Zinder, PhD
1995 - Peter Jatlow, MD
1994 - Jiro J. Kaneko, DVM, PhD
1993 - Richard B. Passey, PhD
1992 - Herbert A. Fritsche, PhD
1991 - Marge A. Brewster, PhD
1990 - H. Peter Lehmann, PhD
1989 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1988 - Julius Kerkay, PhD
1987 - John Al Lott, PhD
1986 - Edward C. Knoblock
1985 - Richard H. Gadsden, Sr., PhD
1984 - Allan G. Gornall, PhD
1983 - Edward W. Bermes, PhD
1982 - Harry F. Weisberg, MD
1981 - F. William Sunderman, Sr., MD, PhD
1980 - Roger J. Thibert, PhD
1979 - Paige K. Besch, PhD
1978 - Hanns-Dieter Gruemer, MD
1977 - Hugh J. McDonald, DSc
1976 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1975 - Max E. Chilcote, PhD
1974 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1973 - Joseph I Routh, PhD
1972 - Martin Rubin, PhD
1971 - Alex Kaplan, PhD