Mitchell G. Scott, PhD, DABCC

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

Mitchell Scott

2019 Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine

2005 AACC Past President’s Award

2000 Outstanding Contributions in Education

Dr. Scott is professor of pathology and immunology in the division of laboratory and genomic medicine at Washington University School of Medicine and co-medical director of clinical chemistry and point-of-care testing at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. After his postdoctoral clinical chemistry fellowship under Jack Ladenson at Washington University, he worked in the in vitro diagnostics industry for several years. He returned to Washington University to join the laboratory medicine faculty in 1987. He is co-director of the clinical chemistry postdoctoral training program and has trained 63 chemistry fellows and more than 200 pathology residents. Many of these trainees have held positions in AACC. An AACC member since 1982, he has served as president, as treasurer, and on numerous committees and task forces. He is the only AACC president to have entered the annual meeting opening ceremony on a bicycle. Dr. Scott has also been president of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry and the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists. He has served on several committees of the Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute. He has been an associate editor of the journal Clinical Chemistry since 2005. Dr. Scott’s research has spanned broad areas of laboratory medicine. He has been the principal investigator on more than 70 clinical and translational studies and made numerous contributions to understanding the causes of assay interference and false test results. With many collaborators, he has authored 154 peer-reviewed scientific papers and 48 reviews and book chapters. Among his honors, he received the AACC award for outstanding contributions in education.