Mark Marzinke

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (NACB) and AACC Academy were also both rebranded to the Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine. The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name, the Academy’s old name, NACB, and/or FACB (one of the old designations for members of the Academy). It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

Mark Marzinke2015 AACC George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication

Dr. Marzinke is assistant professor of pathology and medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is the director of preanalytics and the general chemistry laboratory at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, as well as the associate director of the clinical pharmacology analytical laboratory. Dr. Marzinke received his doctorate in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. After a postdoctoral fellowship in clinical chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, he joined the faculty, where his research is currently focused on the development of bioanalytical tools to better understand the pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic relationships of antiretrovirals in the management and prevention of HIV. Other research interests include pharmacogenetics and laboratory automation in the clinical environment. Dr. Marzinke is board-certified in clinical chemistry by the American Board of Clinical Chemistry, and is a fellow of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry. He is a principal investigator or co-investigator on several grants, and has published more than 25 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters. He has served AACC as a member of the 2014 Annual Meeting Organizing Committee and as chair of the Capital Section. He has also served as president of the National Registry of Certified Chemists. He has received young investigator awards from the Academy of Clinical Physicians and Scientists and the AACC Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Toxicology Division.