George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication

Scientific and research excellence by laboratory medicine students and trainees is recognized through the Grannis award. The late George Grannis was the second President of the Academy. A man of great curiosity, profound thinking, and creativity, Dr. Grannis’ interests and published research included findings in the areas of protein biochemistry in health and disease, normal and abnormal blood coagulation, proficiency evaluation of clinical laboratories, biochemistry of aging, and quality control of enzyme analyses.

This award includes a guest lectureship at an Ohio Valley Local Section meeting during the year of the award. All current and past students in undergraduate, graduate, or postdoctoral laboratory medicine training programs who were enrolled sometime during the three-year period prior to the year of the award will be considered candidates for this award. The student must have published a paper indexed in Index Medicus during this same time period. Names of students from ComACC-accredited programs may be submitted by the program director. Names of students from non-ComACC-accredited programs may be submitted by their mentors. The nomination should include a letter of nomination, a list of papers authored by the student, and a copy of the trainee's curriculum vitae. Literature references should include sufficient information to locate the papers; links to PubMed abstracts are suitable.

Sponsored by the Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine and the Ohio Valley Local Section.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Nadia Ayala-LopezNadia Ayala-Lopez, PhD, MLS (ASCP), DABCC, NRCC Dr. Ayala-Lopez is Director of Clinical Chemistry in Medical Affairs at Labcorp Drug Development where she provides medical, scientific, and regulatory support for the Central Laboratory Services in the areas of hematology, clinical chemistry, special chemistry, analytical chemistry, and toxicology. She also serves as the Medical Laboratory Director for Labcorp Bioanalytical Services in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Previous Winners

2022 - Ruben Y. Luo, PhD, DABCC
2021 - Christopher Farnsworth, PhD, DABCC, FADLM
2020 - Xander van Wijk, PhD, DABCC
2019 - Gabrielle Winston-McPherson, PhD
2018 - Phedias Diamandis, MD, PhD
2017 - Roy Peake, PhD
2016 - Joe El-Khoury, PhD
2015 - Mark A. Marzinke, PhD
2014 - Andrei Drabovich, PhD

Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine Designation

Fellows of the Academy use the designation of FADLM. This designation is equivalent to FACB and FAACC, the previous designations used by fellows of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry and AACC Academy. Those groups were rebranded as Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine in 2023.