Press Release

AACC Elects Medical Lab Director at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia as 2017 President

WASHINGTON – AACC is pleased to announce that Michael J. Bennett, PhD, has been elected to serve on the AACC Board as president-elect beginning in January 2016, followed by successive terms as the association’s 68th president in 2017 and past president in 2018. The AACC membership also elected a new treasurer and two new members of the association’s Board of Directors who will take office at the start of 2016.

“It is a great privilege and honor to be elected as 2017 president of the world’s leading organization for laboratory medicine,” said Dr. Bennett. “I look forward to working closely with AACC’s leadership, staff, and members on initiatives to advance the field of laboratory medicine, as well as to make laboratory medicine professionals more integral members of the healthcare team so that patients can fully benefit from their expertise. Together, I believe we can make AACC’s vision of better health through laboratory medicine a reality.”

Dr. Bennett is professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and chief of laboratory medicine and director of clinical chemistry and the metabolic disease laboratory at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. He also holds the Evelyn Willing Bromley Endowed Chair in Clinical Laboratories and Pathology. An active member of AACC since 1993, he is currently AACC treasurer, chair-elect of the association’s Proteomics and Metabolomics Division and is a past president of AACC’s academy, the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (NACB). He was also a member of the NACB education and scientific affairs committee, where he chaired the Laboratory Medicine Practice Guidelines for expanded newborn screening. Dr. Bennett’s research includes investigation of inborn errors of energy metabolism and pediatric neurodegenerative diseases.

AACC Treasurer

Corinne Fantz, PhD, will serve a 3-year term as AACC treasurer.

Dr. Fantz is director of scientific affairs, point-of-care testing at Roche Diagnostics Corporation in Indianapolis. She has been an active AACC member for 17 years and in 2015 was chair of the association’s Annual Meeting Organizing Committee, which plans the AACC Annual Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo. She has also served as a member of the Patient Safety Focus editorial board for AACC’s flagship magazine, Clinical Laboratory News, in addition to holding a variety of other association positions.

AACC Board Members

Linnea M. Baudhuin, PhD, and William Clarke, PhD, MBA, will serve 3-year terms as members of AACC’s Board of Directors.

Dr. Baudhuin is associate professor of laboratory medicine and pathology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, where she also serves as co-director of the Personalized Genomics Laboratory, the Clinical Genomics Sequencing Laboratory, and Cardiovascular Laboratory and has a joint appointment in the Department of Medical Genetics. An AACC member since 1998, Dr. Baudhuin helped found the association’s Society for Young Clinical Laboratorians (SYCL), is a member of the Clinical Laboratory News editorial board, and an associate editor of AACC’s journal Clinical Chemistry. Additionally, she has held past leadership positions in SYCL, the association's Midwest Section, Lipoproteins and Vascular Division, and Molecular Pathology Division.

Dr. Clarke is an associate professor of pathology and director of point-of-care testing and clinical toxicology at Johns Hopkins Hospital. His involvement with AACC includes serving as chair of the 2016 AACC Annual Meeting Organizing Committee and as a member of the association’s Government Relations Committee, in addition to holding leadership positions in AACC’s Capital Local Section, Therapeutic Drug Management and Toxicology Division, and Critical and Point-of-Care Testing Division.


About AACC

Dedicated to achieving better health through laboratory medicine, AACC brings together more than 50,000 clinical laboratory professionals, physicians, research scientists, and business leaders from around the world focused on clinical chemistry, molecular diagnostics, mass spectrometry, translational medicine, lab management, and other areas of progressing laboratory science. Since 1948, AACC has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing programs that advance scientific collaboration, knowledge, expertise, and innovation. For more information, visit


Media Contacts

Christine DeLong
Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine
Associate Director, Communications & PR
(p) 202.835.8722
[email protected]

Molly Polen
Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine
Senior Director, Communications & PR
(p) 202.420.7612
(c) 703.598.0472
[email protected]