Steven WongAACC members elected Steven Wong, PhD, DABCC, FACB, to serve as President of the association in 2014, announced AACC Secretary Elizabeth Frank, PhD. Also newly elected are Dennis Dietzen, PhD, DABCC, FACB, and Corinne Fantz, PhD, DABCC, FACB, to serve as members of the Board of Directors, as well as Michael Bennett, PhD, DABCC, FACB, as Treasurer. Four individuals were elected to serve on the 2013 Nominating Committee: Shannon Haymond, PhD, DABCC; Loralie Langman, PhD, DABCC, FACB; Stacy Melanson, MD, PhD; and M. Laura Parnas, PhD, DABCC, FACB.

Wong takes his place as AACC's 65th President, having been active in the association since 1980. He is professor of pathology at Wake Forest University School of Medicine and director of clinical chemistry and toxicology in the core laboratory at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center in Winston-Salem, N.C., where he also is a member of the Point of Care Testing Committee, and Co-Director of the Clinical and Translational Mass Spectrometry Center.

Wong's service to AACC includes time as a member on the Board of Directors, chair of three AACC divisions and the North Carolina Local Section, and a member of the organizing committee for a proteomics conference.

During his presidency, Wong plans to focus on collaborating with other medical associations, as well as government agencies such as the National Institutes of Health, to advance personalized medicine.