Related Links

Using Automation to Achieve Six-Sigma Quality and Improve Patient Safety
Charles D. Hawker, PhD, MBA, FACB

The Leadership Triangle (powerpoint file, 4.7 MB) 
Russell P. Massaro, MD

Management Magic 
Christopher S. Frings, PhD, CSP 

Rewarding Employees: A Person Example


The Health Care Workforce Shortage
Mary Havens 

The American Society for Quality
A professional association headquartered in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA, creates better workplaces and communities worldwide by advancing learning, quality improvement, and knowledge exchange.

The Federal Register (FR): Main Page
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Founded in 1901, NIST is a non-regulatory federal agency within the U.S. Commerce Department's Technology Administration. NIST's mission is to develop and promote measurement, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life. NIST carries out its mission in four cooperative programs:

  • The NIST Laboratories, conducting research that advances the nation's technology infrastructure and is needed by U.S. industry to continually improve products and services;
  • The Baldrige National Quality Program, which promotes performance excellence among U.S. manufacturers, service companies, educational institutions, and health care providers; conducts outreach programs and manages the annual Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award which recognizes performance excellence and quality achievement;
  • The Manufacturing Extension Partnership, a nationwide network of local centers offering technical and business assistance to smaller manufacturers; and
  • The Advanced Technology Program, which accelerates the development of innovative technologies for broad national benefit by co-funding R&D partnerships with the private sector.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Recognized as the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people - at home and broad, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.

CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
Regulates all laboratory testing (except research) performed on humans in the U.S. through the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA). In total CLIA covers approximately 175,000 laboratory entities. The Division of Laboratory Services, within the Survey and Certification Group, under the Center for Medicaid and State Operations has the responsibility for implementing the CLIA Program. The objective of the CLIA program is to ensure quality laboratory testing. Although all clinical laboratories must be properly certified to receive Medicare or Medicaid payments, CLIA has no direct Medicare or Medicaid program responsibilities. Here are helpful sites related to the Medicare and Medicaid programs.

FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
The federal agency responsible for ensuring that foods are safe, wholesome and sanitary; human and veterinary drugs, biological products, and medical devices are safe and effective; cosmetics are safe; and electronic products that emit radiation are safe. FDA also ensures that these products are honestly, accurately and informatively represented to the public.