Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology Division Awards

Carl R. Jolliff Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical or Diagnostic Immunology 

The Carl R. Jolliff Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology was instituted in 2006 by the Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology Division (CDID) of the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM) in memory of Carl R. Jolliff. Dr. Jolliff had an exemplary career in clinical service, research and education, and this award recognizes an individual with an outstanding achievement in those areas. The Jolliff Award is presented at the CDID Mixer at the ADLM Annual Meeting.

Honorarium amount: $1,000
Nomination deadline:
May 22


  1. Nominations must include a letter (500 words or less) that includes a description of the nominee's achievements in service, research, or education to clinical or diagnostic immunology.
  2. Email the nomination letter and the nominee's CV to [email protected].
  3. Selection will be made by a review committee of the Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology Division officers.

Carl Joliff

Carl R. Jolliff (1926-2003)

Carl Jolliff was born on July 2, 1926, in Lakewood, Ohio. He graduated from the University of Iowa. During WWII he served as an Army Medic in Europe. He was Co-Director of the Hastings Medical Laboratory (Nebraska) and Lincoln Medical Laboratory from 1951 to 1958 and also served as Director of Clinical Labs at Hastings State Hospital from 1953 to 1956. Dr. Jolliff was Director of the Clinical Laboratory at Lincoln Clinic (Nebraska) from 1958 to 1991 and Chief of Immunology and Immunochemistry for Physician's Lab Services 1991-2000. Dr. Jolliff was a Research Scientist with the Lincoln Medical Research Foundation and served on its Board of Directors. He also served as a visiting professor at the Nebraska Wesleyan University where he taught Immunology and Pathophysiology for more than 30 years.

Dr. Jolliff was a Specialist Microbiologist (American Academy of Microbiology) and was affiliated with many associations, including, the Lincoln Medical Research Foundation, American Academy of Microbiology, American Chemists Society, American Society of Microbiology, Sigma Xi Honorary Society, American Society for Medical Technologists, New York Academy of Sciences, and the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (formerly AACC). As member of ADLM for over 45 years, Dr. Jolliff served on several local and national committees, including the Division of Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology where he served as Membership Chair. Internationally recognized for his contributions in the area of clinical electrophoresis, his research activities included the study of pediatric patients with repeated infectious episodes and allergic states and the development of methods in immunochemistry in relation to immunoglobulins and specific proteins as manifested in various disease states. Dr. Jolliff also served as a consultant and guest lecturer at numerous colleges and universities as well as clinical laboratories throughout the country, and his publications on electrophoresis, immunoelectrophoresis, and protein quantitation have served as analytical guidelines to many laboratorians.

Past Award Recipients

2023 Mark Werner, MD

2022 David L. Murray, MD

2019 Roshini S. Abraham, PhD

2018 James D. Faix, MD

2017 Steven Binder

2016 Marvin Fritzler, MD

2015 Jerry Katzmann,PhD

2013 Eleftherios Diamandis, MD, PhD

2012 Daniel W. Chan, PhD

2011 Ondrej Topolcan, MD

2010 William Korzun, PhD

2009 Herbert Fritsche, PhD

2008 Ishwarlal Jialal, MD, PhD

2007 Pui-Yuen Wong, PhD

2006 David Keren, MD