Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award

The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has demonstrated a lifetime commitment to, and made important contributions that have had a significant impact on education, practice and/or research in laboratory medicine or patient care.

This award honors Wallace H. Coulter, founder of Coulter Corporation and inventor of the Coulter Principle, a simple but elegant innovation that revolutionized hematology and the practice of laboratory medicine, pioneered the field of flow cytometry and defined particle characterization. The Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine’s (formerly AACC) most prestigious award—presented annually at the the ADLM Annual Meeting—commemorates Wallace Coulter's outstanding contributions to diagnostics and his championship of research and innovation. It is fitting that his legacy will be celebrated with lectures by renowned leaders in healthcare.

The Wallace H. Coulter Foundation generously supports The Wallace H. Coulter Lectureship Award.

Congratulations to the 2024 Winner

Patrick BossuytPatrick M. Bossuyt, PhD

Patrick M. Bossuyt, PhD, is the professor of Clinical Epidemiology at the University of Amsterdam. His research focuses on studies of the effectiveness of clinical interventions and medical tests to guide clinical recommendations and coverage decisions. Dr. Bossuyt leads the Biomarker and Test Evaluation research program in Amsterdam, evaluating and developing methods to evaluate the clinical performance and clinical utility of laboratory tests. He spearheaded the Standards for Reporting Diagnostic Accuracy Studies (STARD) initiative for the improved reporting of diagnostic test accuracy. Dr. Bossuyt has authored and co-authored several hundred publications in peer reviewed journals and serves on the editorial board of a number of these, including Radiology and Clinical Chemistry. For 10 years he chaired the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Dutch Health Insurance Board, overseeing the national healthcare benefits package.

Previous Winners

2023 - Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD
2022 - George Church, PhD
2021 - Regina Barzilay, PhD
2020 - Michael Laposata, MD, PhD
2019 - David R. Walt, PhD
2018 - Brian Druker, MD
2017 - Jennifer Doudna, PhD
2016 - John T. McDevitt, PhD
2015 - Yuk-Ming Dennis Lo, MD
2014 - Eric J. Topol, MD
2013 - C. Ronald Kahn, MD
2012 - Eric D. Green
2011 - Mary-Claire King, PhD
2010 - John Trojanowski
2009 - Jerome E. Groopman, MD