This award is given each year to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine’s (ADLM, formerly AACC) immediate past president to honor his or her important contributions to the field of clinical laboratory science throughout his or her career and to acknowledge the recipient's many contributions to ADLM.

Although historical records do not indicate when the award originated, ADLM’s Past Presidents and the year in which they served as ADLM President, are listed below.

Congratulations to the 2024 Winner

2024 ADLM Past President’s AwardShannon Haymond, PhD, DABCC, FADLM

Dr. Shannon Haymond is Vice Chair for Computational Pathology and Director for Clinical Mass Spectrometry at Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago. She is Associate Professor of Pathology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Dr. Haymond received her undergraduate degree in Chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She completed a PhD in Analytical Chemistry at Michigan State University and proceeded to Washington University in Saint Louis for the Clinical Chemistry Fellowship Program.

Dr. Haymond has been a member of ADLM since 2002. She started her ADLM career by becoming involved in her local section (Chicago) for which she served in many roles, including Chair. She is also a former Chair of the Pediatric Maternal Fetal Medicine division and has been a member of the Mass Spectrometry and Informatics divisions. Dr. Haymond was a member of the 2010 and 2017 Annual Meeting Organizing Committees. She has served on ADLM special interest committees like SYCL, the Annual Meeting Strategic Advisory Group, and the Data Analytics Task Force, and was part of the Lab Tests Online editorial board. In 2018, she was elected to serve a three-year term on the Board of Directors, and in 2021, she was elected to serve as ADLM president-elect.  

Dr. Haymond’s computational pathology efforts are aimed at building the capacity for advanced data analytics in her department through innovations in infrastructure, education, and research to facilitate data-informed decision making for clinical care, operations, and quality assurance. She recently completed a Master of Science in Predictive Analytics from Northwestern University. 

Dr. Haymond served as the 2022-23 president of ADLM (formerly AACC).

Previous Winners

2023 - Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, FADLM
2022 - David G. Grenache, PhD, DABCC
2021 - Carmen L. Wiley, PhD, DABCC, FADLM
2019 - Dennis J. Dietzen, PhD
2018 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD
2017 - Patricia Jones, PhD
2016 - David D. Koch, PhD
2015 - Steven H. Wong, PhD
2014 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD
2013 - Greg Miller, PhD
2012 - Ann Gronowski, PhD
2011 - Catherine A. Hammett-Stabler, PhD
2010 - Barbara M. Goldsmith, PhD
2009 - Larry Broussard, PhD
2008 - Gary L. Myers, PhD, FACB
2006 - John E. Sherwin, PhD
2005 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
2004 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
2003 - Susan A. Evans, PhD
2002 - Mary Lou Gantzer, PhD
2001 - Larry Kricka, PhD
2000 - Frank A. Sedor, PhD
1999 - K. Michael Parker, PhD
1998 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
1997 - Laurence M. Demers, PhD
1996 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
1995 - Peter Wilding, PhD
1994 - Lawrence M. Killingsworth, PhD
1993 - Lemuel J. Bowie, Phd
1992 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1991 - Karen L. Nickel, PhD
1990 - Helen M. Free, DSc
1989 - Carl A. Burtis, PhD
1988 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1987 - Robert L. Habig, PhD
1986 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1985 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1984 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1983 - Gary A. Zimmerman, PhD
1982 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1981 - Paige K. Besch, PhD
1980 - Donald S. Young, PhD
1979 - Albert Dietz, PhD
1978 - Nathan Gochman, PhD
1977 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1976 - Royden N. Rand, PhD
1975 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
1974 - George N. Bowers, MD
1973 - Ralph E. Thiers, PhD
1972 - Joseph H. Boutwell, MD, PhD
1971 - Alex Kaplan, PhD
1970 - Robert S. Melville, PhD
1968 - William B. Mason, PhD
1967 - Robert L. Dryer, PhD
1966 - Wendell T. Caraway, PhD
1965 - Julius Sendroy, PhD
1964 - Richard J. Henry, PhD
1963 - Miriam Reiner, PhD
1962 - David Seligson, MD, ScD
1961 - Arnold G. Ware, PhD
1960 - Ferrin B. Moreland, PhD
1959 - Oliver Gaebler
1958 - Joseph I Routh, PhD
1957 - Robert M. Hill, PhD
1956 - Otto Schales, PhD
1955 - Monroe E. Freeman, PhD
1954 - Hugh J. McDonald, DSc
1953 - Albert E. Sobel, PhD
1952 - John G. Reinhold, PhD
1951 - Harry Sabotka
1950 - Max M. Friedman, PhD