This award (formerly known as Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry from 1952-2007) is considered the premier award of the Association and is granted as a "lifetime achievement" award for contributions to the field of clinical chemistry. Individuals selected for this award have made significant contributions in all aspects of clinical chemistry, particularly service, education and research; have achieved international stature and reputation by virtue of their efforts; and have demonstrated long standing service to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM, formerly AACC), either at the grass roots, national and/or international levels.

Congratulations to the 2024 Winner

2024 Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory MedicineThomas Annesley, PhD, DABCC

Dr. Thomas Annesley is active professor emeritus of clinical chemistry at the University of Michigan. After a postdoctoral fellowship at the Mayo Clinic, he began his career at the university in 1981, where he has remained since. A member of ADLM since 1977, Dr. Annesley has held positions at the local and national levels. These activities have included the board of directors of ADLM, four Annual Meeting Organizing Committees, president of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (now the Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine), chair of the National Registry in Clinical Chemistry toxicology examination committee, and the board of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry. He was one of the three individuals who created the original concept of the Society for Young Clinical Laboratories (SYCL), winning the SYCL Mentor of the Year award in 2013. Dr. Annesley has served multiple editorial roles for the ADLM’s journal Clinical Chemistry, the last role as Deputy Editor from 2008 to 2022. He has won several education awards, including a teaching award his first year at Michigan, the 2018 ADLM Award for Outstanding Contributions to Education, and the 2020 International Federation of Clinical Chemistry award for Distinguished Contributions to Education.

His research has focused on chromatography and mass spectrometry, publishing 135 articles, two of which have been designated as Citation Classics. In 1981, he received the Young Investigator’s Award from the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists. In 1987, he received the Young Investigator’s Award from ADLM. In 2008, he received the Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Mass Spectrometry Award. During the latter portion of his career, he has focused on teaching scientific writing. He authored the 14-part Guide to Scientific Writing, translated into seven languages, and which was adapted into the book Designing and Writing Scientific Research Papers.

Previous Winners

2023 - Robert H. Christenson, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, FACC
2022 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD, FRCPath, DABCC, FADLM
2021 - Marilyn Huestis, PhD
2020 - Nader Rifai, PhD
2019 - Mitchell Scott, PhD
2018 - D. Robert Dufour, MD
2017 - Susan Evans, PhD
2016 - Edward R. Ashwood, MD
2015 - Gary L. Myers, PhD
2014 - Charles D. Hawker, PhD
2013 - Leslie M. Shaw, PhD
2012 - Thomas P. Moyer, PhD
2011 - Stephen E. Kahn, PhD
2010 - Jay M. McDonald, MD
2009 - Christopher P. Price, PhD
2008 - Mary F. Burritt, PhD
2007 - Greg Miller, PhD
2006 - Helen M. Free, DSc
2005 - Edward W. Bermes, PhD
2004 - Matthew McQueen, PhD
2003 - Morton K. Schwartz, PhD
2002 - Theodore Peters, PhD
2001 - Peter Wilding, PhD
2000 - Nathan Gochman, PhD
1999 - Lemuel J. Bowie, Phd
1998 - David E. Bruns, MD
1997 - Gerard M. Siest, PhD
1996 - Kurt M. Dubowski, PhD
1995 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1994 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
1993 - Jocelyn M. Hicks, PhD
1992 - Gerald R. Cooper, PhD
1991 - Carl A. Burtis, PhD
1990 - Samuel Meites, PhD
1989 - Norbet W. Tietz, PhD
1988 - George N. Bowers, MD
1987 - Martin Fleisher, PhD
1986 - Laurence M. Demers, PhD
1984 - William C. Purdy, PhD
1983 - John Savory, PhD
1982 - James O. Westgard, PhD
1981 - Robert F. Labbe, PhD
1980 - David Glick, PhD
1979 - Abraham Saifer, PhD
1978 - F. William Sunderman, MD
1977 - Donald S. Young, PhD
1976 - Norman G. Anderson, PhD
1975 - Bernard Klein, PhD
1974 - Bennie Zak, PhD
1973 - Irving Sunshine, PhD
1972 - Ralph E. Thiers, PhD
1971 - David Seligson, MD, ScD
1970 - Wendell T. Caraway, PhD
1969 - Sidney Udenfriend, PhD
1968 - Julius Sendroy, PhD
1967 - Richard J. Henry, PhD
1966 - Leonard T. Skeggs, PhD
1965 - Samuel Natelson, PhD
1964 - Donald D. Van Slyke, PhD
1963 - C.P. Stewart
1962 - Harry Sobotka, PhD
1961 - Warren Sperry
1960 - Albert E. Sobel, PhD
1959 - Oliver Gaebler
1958 - Marschelle Power, PhD
1957 - Joseph Gast, PhD
1956 - Joesph Roe, PhD
1955 - M.X. Sullivan, PhD
1954 - John G. Reinhold, PhD
1953 - Michael Somogyi, PhD
1952 - Jos Kahn, PhD