Lena Armstrong Lewis, PhD

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

1974 Outstanding Contributions in a Selected Area of Research

Lena Armstrong Lewis has been selected to receive the second AACC Award for Outstanding Achievements in a Selected Area of Clinical Chemistry, sponsored by the Boehringer Mannheim Corporation. The 1974 Award is for expertise in the area of lipids and lipoproteins.

Dr. Lewis received the Ph.D. degree in physiology from the Ohio State University, and followed this with several years as a postdoctoral fellow in physiology and endocrinology at The Ohio State University and the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. In 1971, she was appointed Adjunct Professor in Chemistry at Cleveland State University.

Her numerous publications reflect her interest in both the methodology and physiological chemistry of lipids and lipoproteins. She was one of the pioneers in protein fractionation. Her work has been recognized outside the United States, as evidenced by invitations to speak at symposia on lipids and lipoproteins in Greece, Prague, France, and, most recently, Germany, as well as within the United States. In 1971 she organized a postgraduate course on lipids and lipoproteins, which was presented by the Cleveland Clinic Educational Foundation.

Dr. Lewis has received other awards throughout her career, among them an honorary LL.D. from Lindenwood College, the silver metal for original investigation from the American Medical Association (1956), and a gold award (educational class) at the Annual Scientific Exhibit of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists and the College of Pathologists in 1971.

A member of AACC since 1956, Dr. Lewis has served as chairman of the Program Committee and as chairman of the Cleveland Section. Since 1965 she has served on the Board of Editors of Clinical Chemistry.