Joseph L. Goldstein

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

1988 AACC Lectureship Award

Joseph L. Goldstein is the recipient of this year’s AACC National Lectureship Award. This award is sponsored by Diagnostic Systems Division, Technicon Instruments Corporation.

Dr. Goldstein was born 1940 in Sumter, SC. He received his B.S. degree in 1962 from Washington & Lee University, Lexington, VA, and his M.D. in 1966 from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dallas, TX. He served his internship and residency in medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, MA (1966–68). From 1968 to 1970 he was a clinical associate in the laboratory of Dr. Marshall W. Nirenberg at the National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD. He then served two years as a special NIH fellow with Dr. Arno G. Motulsky at the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle. In 1972 Dr. Goldstein became assistant professor of medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and head of the Division of Medical Genetics, and in 1976 he was appointed professor of internal medicine. In 1977 Dr. Goldstein was made chairman of the new Department of Molecular Genetics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas and Paul J. Thomas Professor of Medicine and Genetics. In 1985, he was named Regental Professor of the University of Texas.

Dr. Goldstein is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (elected 1980), American Academy of Arts and Sciences (elected 1981), American College of Physicians, American Society of Biological Chemists, American Society for Clinical Investigation, Association of American Physicians, and Phi Beta Kappa. He is also an honorary member of the Harvey Society and a diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine. He has received honorary Doctor of Science degrees from the University of Chicago (1982), Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1982), and Washington & Lee University (1986).

Together with his colleague, Dr. Michael S. Brown, Dr. Goldstein has received a number of awards for their discovery of receptors that control cholesterol metabolism. These include the Heinrich Weiland Prize for Research in Lipid Metabolism (1974); the ACS Pfizer Award for Enzyme Chemistry (1976); the Passano Award (1978); the Lounsbery Award of the National Academy of Sciences (1979); the Gairdner Foundation International Award (1981); the New York Academy of Sciences Award in Biological and Medical Sciences (1981); the Lita Annenberg Hazen Award (1982); the V.D. Mattia Award of the Roche Institute of Molecular Biology (1984); the Distinguished Research Award of the Association of American Medical Colleges (1984); the Research Achievement Award of the American Heart Association (1984); the Louisa Gross Horwitz Award of Columbia University (1984); the 3M Life Sciences Award of FASEB (1985); the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1985); and the American College of Physicians Award (1986).

Dr. Goldstein was a Harvey Society Lecturer in 1977. He was a member of the Mammalian Cell Lines National Advisory Committee, NIH, from 1975 to 1978. He has served as a member of the editorial boards of Cell, Annual Review of Genetics, Journal of Biological Chemistry, Arteriosclerosis, and Science. He is currently a member of the Medical Advisory Board of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, the Scientific Advisory Board of the Welch Foundation, and is a Nonresident Fellow of The Salk Institute. He is a past president of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (1985–1986).