Hugh J. McDonald, DSc

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

1977 Outstanding Contributions in Education

Hugh J. McDonald will receive the 1977 the AACC Award for Outstanding Efforts in Education and Training, sponsored by Smith Kline Clinical Laboratories. This will be the seventh year that this award has been given.

Dr. McDonald was born in Canada. He received his B.Sc. (summa cum laude) in chemistry at McGill University, his M.S. and D.Sc. (physical chemistry) from Carnegie-Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pa. From 1939 to 1948, he was instructor, assistant professor, associate professor, and then professor of physical chemistry at the Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago. From 1948 to the present, he has been professor and chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Loyola University of Chicago, Stritch School of Medicine.
Dr. McDonald’s research interests include the biochemical aspects of diabetes and atherosclerosis, carbohydrate metabolism, oral hypoglycemic agents, lipoproteins, and separation processes, especially electrophoresis. He has been author or coauthor of more than 180 publications, including three monographs and two patents.

Dr. McDonald was a charter member (1949) of AACC; he has been a diplomate of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry since 1952; chairman of the Committee on Education 1949–50; chairman of the Committee on Ethics 1949–53; national vice president, 1952–53, and president, 1953–1954; founding member, 1955, and member of the editorial board of Clinical Chemistry, 1955–60; and also has held numerous appointments on the board of directors, council, and committees 1954 to the present. Recognition or awards include Hon. Grad., Universidade Catolica do Rio de Janiero, 1962; consultant to Argonne National Laboratory, 1946 to the present; member of the editorial board of Analytical Biochemistry, 1960–70; member, Clinical Laboratory and Blood Bank Advisory Board, State of Illinois, 1968 to the present; consultant, Illinois Department of Public Health Certification Program for Independent Laboratories, 1967 to the present; and member of the Referee Panel, NIH Evaluation Panel for Research Proposals in Biochemistry, 1960 to the present. Memberships include: American Chemical Society, American Society of Biological Chemists, Biophysical Society (charter member), Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine, American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Heart Association, Chicago Heart Association, Sigma Xi, Phi Lambda Upsilon, and Alpha Chi Sigma. He was honored in June 1976 at Loyola University as the recipient of the award “Faculty Person of the Year.”

Of the 58 recipients of the Ph.D. degree from the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Loyola University of Chicago, 18 are now members of the AACC and working in the field of clinical chemistry.

1954 AACC Past President’s Award

Hugh MacDonald, PhD served in 1953-53 as AACC's fifth president.