Andrew Hoofnagle, PhD

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator

Dr. Hoofnagle is assistant professor in the department of laboratory medicine at the University of Washington in Seattle. He also serves as the director of clinical mass spectrometry, director of reference lab services, and assistant director of the clinical chemistry and clinical immunology laboratories. He received his graduate and medical degrees from the University of Colorado, where he studied the influence of phosphorylation on the conformational dynamics of kinases. One of the techniques he used was deuterium exchange as measured by liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry, which gave him experience in using mass spectrometry to address difficult questions. He next pursued training in clinical pathology at the University of Washington. He received early pilot grant funding for an independent research program to study lipoproteomics, protein quantification by mass spectrometry, and vitamin D metabolism. His research in lipoproteomics has provided the basis for novel directions of hypothesis-driven research funded by the National Institutes of Health. His laboratory has helped pioneer the clinical use of immunoaffinity peptide enrichment after tryptic digestion to quantify low-abundance proteins in complex mixtures. His team has also demonstrated the potential for bottom-up proteomics approaches in the quantification of proteins in the clinical laboratory. In addition, his laboratory developed novel high-throughput assays for vitamin D metabolites that have been used in large population studies to quantify the cardiovascular risk associated with low vitamin D stores. Dr. Hoofnagle serves on the editorial boards of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular and Cellular Proteomics. He chairs the AACC Continuing Medical Education Committee and is treasurer of the Proteomics Division. He received the Grannis Award for Excellence in Research from the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry in 2010.