Amy Saenger, PhD

In July 2023, we changed our name from AACC (short for the American Association for Clinical Chemistry) to the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM). The following page was written prior to this rebranding and contains mentions of the association’s old name. It may contain other out-of-date information as well.

2010 Outstanding Scientific Achievements by a Young Investigator

Amy K. Saenger PhD, DABCC, FACB, Dr. Saenger is assistant professor of laboratory medicine and pathology at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and co-director of the central clinical laboratory at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. She is associate director of the clinical chemistry fellowship program and is actively involved in training fellows, pathology residents, and allied laboratory health staff. Her doctoral research for her degree in analytical chemistry from the University of Minnesota focused on mutations in acyl-CoA dehydrogenase enzymes. During her clinical chemistry fellowship training at the University of Washington her research expanded to include novel risk markers for oxidative stress and development of new testing using liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry. At the Mayo Clinic, her research has focused on cardiac biomarkers such as troponin and natriuretic peptides, as well as novel biomarkers for the detection of oxidative and cardiovascular stress, damage, and heart failure. Dr. Saenger has been honored with the Paul E. Strandjord Young Investigator Award from the Academy of Clinical Physicians and Scientists, the Strandjord/Clayson Award for Meritorious Research from the University of Washington, the NACB George Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication given to a Young Investigator, and the the AACC Outstanding Speaker Award. She has authored more than 20 peer-reviewed manuscripts and presented over 35 abstracts and presentations at national meetings. She serves on several the AACC committees, including the Clinical Laboratory News board of editors, Society for Young Clinical Laboratorians executive committee, and Annual Meeting Organizing Committee. She is the chair-elect of the Midwest Section.

2008 The George F. Grannis Award For Excellence In Research And Scientific Publication

Amy K. Saenger, PhD was honored with AACC’s 2008 George F. Grannis Award for Excellence in Research and Scientific Publication.