New York Upstate Local Section Max E. Chilcote Young Investigator Award

This award is made annually at the spring meeting of the section to a person 35 years of age or younger who has presented the best paper given at the meeting. The recipient may be either a member or non-member of the section in this age group. An ad hoc committee of members, set up by the section chair, makes the recommendation. The award consists of a check for $(US) 250 and a letter of congratulations from the section chair.

2023: Samantha Logan

2022: Annie Ren

2021: Victoria Higgins

2020: Not Awarded

2019: Alexander Chesover

2018: Lauren Moore

2017: Michelle Parker

2016: Michael Knauer

2015: Lori Beach

2014: Tracy Teodoro-Morrison

2013: Saranya Kittanakom

2012: Angela Rutledge

2011: John Sievenpiper

2010: Robert Klees

2009: Frederick Strathmann

2008: Yanping Gong

2007: Richard Cleve

2006: Curtis Oleschuk

2005: Richard Cleve

2003: Christine Obiezu

2002: Ralf Labugger

2001: George M. Yousef

1999: George M. Yousef

1998: Margot Black

1997: Manoj Rajadhyaksha

1996: Mehrdad Yazdanpenah

1995: Abdel Rahmon

1994: Michael Levesque

1993: He Yu

1990: Tracy Wong

1990: Samuel C. K. Yiu

Max E. Chilcote, PhD (1917-1994)

Max Chilcote was born on September 1, 1917, in Bemidji, MN; he received his BS and MS from the University of Minnesota and his PhD in biological chemistry from the University of Michigan in 1944. He had short-term positions at Loyola University School of Medicine and Pennsylvania State College before moving to Buffalo, NY where he spent the remainder of his career. Most notably, he worked at the Erie County Laboratories, which he directed from 1971 until his retirement in the mid-1980s. He was an early pioneer in the postdoctoral education of clinical chemists and received the 1975 the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (formerly AACC) award for Outstanding Contributions to Education.

He was a doer of the highest level, one of the few giants of our field. He is the only person ever who was elected twice to be president of the Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists. He developed and operated the Public Health Laboratories and Medical Examiner System of Erie County and tended to a professional faculty of 17. In times of fiscal restraint in the 1970s he still got the New York legislature to build a first-rate laboratory with a strong academic base.

His opinion was always valuable and sought out by many. His influence extended to almost anyone with whom he came in contact, and he was always available to people in training. He served the Upstate New York Section of the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM) in many capacities since its founding. Because of his commitment to education and training of young laboratorians, the Section named its Young Investigator Award in memory of Dr. Chilcote in 2002.