SYCL will award a minimum of 15 needs-based Travel Grants and up to four merit-based Impact Awards for ADLM 2024 (formerly the AACC Annual Scientific Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo). Travel Grants are meant to support the costs of the meeting whereas the Impact Award is meant to honor candidates who make an exceptional impact on ADLM 2024. Please note that you may only apply for one award.

SYCL Travel Grants

Apply Here

The Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (ADLM, formerly AACC) helps SYCL members in the U.S. and Canada participate in ADLM 2024 by awarding SYCL Travel Grants. This need-based grant provides $1,000 to SYCL members to cover the cost of attending the meeting and includes complimentary registration. Individuals with minimal or no funding made available by their institution or employer may apply for up to $2,000. A minimum of 15 Travel Grants will be awarded.

Applicant Criteria

The criteria for selection include:

  1. The applicant’s demonstrated financial need (50%). A brief paragraph of support is required from a program director, supervisor, or manager to help justify the applicant’s financial need.
  2. The impact of attending ADLM 2024 on the applicant’s career (50%).

Additional Notes

Medical laboratory scientists, pre-doctoral candidates, clinical fellows, post-doctoral candidates, and individuals within year of completing postdoctoral training or in independent positions are all strongly encouraged to apply.

Individuals that apply for this award are not eligible for the SYCL Annual Meeting Impact Award.

Previous SYCL Domestic Travel Grant winners are not eligible to apply again.

SYCL Annual Meeting Impact Award

Apply Here

This is a merit-based award conferred to SYCL members who demonstrate a tremendous scientific and educational impact on ADLM 2024. This award considers the cumulative impact of all educational sessions, scientific talks, and/or posters presented by the individual at ADLM 2024. SYCL Annual Meeting Impact Award recipients must be the presenting author of an accepted abstract, roundtable, or scientific session. The award includes $500 and complimentary registration for up to four individuals.

Additional Notes

Applications are encouraged from all SYCL members (i.e., PhD student, fellow, medical laboratory scientist). However, faculty applicants must be within one year of training to receive this award. Priority will be given to first-time applicants.

Individuals who apply for this award are not eligible for a SYCL Travel Grant.


If you have questions about the SYCL Travel Grants or SYCL Annual Meeting Impact Awards, please email [email protected] or call 800.892.1400 x8701 and 202.835.8701.

2023 SYCL Travel Grant Winners

Abigail Ansah-Zame, BSc
Chemistry, Cleveland State University
Cleveland, Ohio

Aja Aravamudhan, PhD
Laboratory Medicine and Pathology, University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Anil Chokkalla, PhD
Pathology and Immunology, Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Childrens Hospital
Houston, Texas

Anastasia Gant Kanegusuku, PhD
Pathology, The University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Maxwell Harsha
Chemistry, University of New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana

Jillian Kodger
Chemistry, Cleveland State University
Cleveland, Ohio

Erving T. Laryea, PhD
Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, Tennesee

Xu Li, PhD
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia

Yaxin Li, PhD
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine
New York, New York

Shaimaa Maher, PhD
Biomedical Engineering, Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Leah Militello, MD, MBA
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, New York

Ashwini Kumar Nepal, MS, MLS(ASCP)CM
Principal Scientific Affairs Specialist, PPD
Chicago, Illinois

Onyeka Obidi
Biochemistry, University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Lily Olayinka, PhD
Pathology, Baylor College of Medicine/Texas Childrens Hospital
Houston, Texas

Catherine Omosule, PhD
Clinical Chemistry, Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri

Brittany Roemmich, MT(ASCP)
Research Lab Supervisor, Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, Missouri

Chelsea Swartchick
Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Urbana, Illinois

Daisy Unsihuay Vila, PhD
Clinical Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine/Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania