AACC Elects Michael J. Bennett, PhD, as 2017 President

AACC is pleased to announce that Michael J. Bennett, PhD, has been elected to serve on the AACC Board as president-elect beginning in January 2016, followed by successive terms as the association’s 68th president in 2017 and past president in 2018.

Dr. Bennett is professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and chief of laboratory medicine and director of clinical chemistry and the metabolic disease laboratory at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. He also holds the Evelyn Willing Bromley Endowed Chair in Clinical Laboratories and Pathology. An active member of AACC since 1993, he is currently AACC treasurer, chair-elect of the association’s Proteomics and Metabolomics Division and is a past president of AACC’s academy, the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry (NACB). He was also a member of the NACB education and scientific affairs committee, where he chaired the expanded Laboratory Medicine Practice Guidelines for expanded newborn screening. Dr. Bennett’s research includes investigation of inborn errors of energy metabolism and pediatric neurodegenerative diseases.

The AACC membership also elected a new treasurer, two new members of the association’s Board of Directors, and six new members of the Nominating Committee who will take office at the start of 2016:

AACC Treasurer

Corinne Fantz, PhD, will serve a 3-year term as AACC treasurer.

Dr. Fantz is director of scientific affairs, point-of-care testing at Roche Diagnostics Corporation in Indianapolis. She has been an active AACC member for 17 years and in 2015 was chair of the association’s Annual Meeting Organizing Committee, which plans the AACC Annual Meeting & Clinical Lab Expo. She has also served as a member of the Patient Safety Focus editorial board for AACC’s flagship magazine, Clinical Laboratory News, in addition to holding a variety of other association positions.

AACC Board Members

Linnea M. Baudhuin, PhD, and William Clarke, PhD, MBA, will serve 3-year terms as members of AACC’s Board of Directors.

Linnea BaudhuinDr. Baudhuin is associate professor of laboratory medicine and pathology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, where she also serves as co-director of the Personalized Genomics Laboratory, the Clinical Genomics Sequencing Laboratory, and Cardiovascular Laboratory and has a joint appointment in the Department of Medical Genetics. An AACC member since 1998, Dr. Baudhuin helped found the association’s Society for Young Clinical Laboratorians (SYCL), is a member of the Clinical Laboratory News editorial board, and an associate editor of AACC’s journal Clinical Chemistry. Additionally, she has held past leadership positions in SYCL, the association's Midwest Section, Lipoproteins and Vascular Division, and Molecular Pathology Division.

Dr. Clarke is an associate professor of pathology and director of point-of-care testing and clinical toxicology at Johns Hopkins Hospital. His involvement with AACC includes serving as chair of the 2016 AACC Annual Meeting Organizing Committee and as a member of the association’s Government Relations Committee, in addition to holding leadership positions in AACC’s Capital Local Section, Therapeutic Drug Management and Toxicology Division, and Critical and Point-of-Care Testing Division.

AACC Nominating Committee Members

Barbara M. Goldsmith, PhD, FACB; Larry J. Kricka, DPhil, FACB, CChem FRSC, FRCPath; Nathalie Lepage, PhD; W. Greg Miller, PhD; Gary Myers, PhD; and Nader Rifai, PhD, will serve 2-year terms on AACC’s Nominating Committee, which is responsible for choosing future candidates for both the Nominating Committee and the AACC Board.

Dr. Goldsmith serves as the clinical professor and director of point-of-care testing and quality management in the Department of Pathology, Anatomy, and Cell Biology at Sidney Kimmel Medical College and is also a professor and chair of the Department of Bioscience Technologies, College of Health Professions at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia. She is a past president of AACC, current president of NACB, and has served on three AACC Annual Meeting Organizing Committees, in addition to chairing AACC’s Latin American Work Group.

Dr. Kricka is professor of pathology and laboratory medicine and director of the General Chemistry Laboratory and the Endocrinology Laboratory at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center. An AACC member since the 1980s, Dr. Kricka served as president of the association in 2001, as a member of the AACC Annual Meeting Organizing Committee, and is a current member of the Clinical Chemistry Board of Editors.

Dr. Lepage is professor of pathology and laboratory medicine at the University of Ottawa, Canada and head of the Biochemical Genetics and Prenatal Screening Laboratory at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario in Ottawa. She also serves as laboratory director for the Hawkesbury General Hospital and as a laboratory consultant for clinical biochemistry for the teaching Montfort Hospital, both of which are in Eastern Ontario. Throughout her time as an AACC member, she has held the positions of secretary, chair-elect, and chair in AACC’s Pediatric and Maternal-Fetal Division, and has also been a member of two AACC Annual Meeting Organizing Committees.

Dr. Miller is professor of pathology and director of clinical chemistry and pathology information systems at Virginia Commonwealth University. A member of AACC since 1974, he served as president of the association in 2012 and received AACC’s Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine in 2007. He also co-chaired the AACC-sponsored establishment of the International Consortium for Harmonization of Clinical Laboratory Tests, whose mission is to organize global efforts to achieve uniform laboratory test results. Currently, he serves as chair of the Harmonization Oversight Group for the consortium and as an associate editor of Clinical Chemistry.

Gary MyersDr. Myers is vice president of Science and Practice Affairs at AACC. Prior to joining AACC’s staff in 2010, he served at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) as chief of the Clinical Chemistry Branch in the Division of Laboratory Sciences and director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Research and Reference in Blood Lipids. During his more than 33 year career at CDC, he directed programs to improve and standardize the laboratory measurement of biomarkers used to assess chronic disease status, particularly in the areas of cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and chronic kidney disease. Most recently, he co-chaired the establishment of the International Consortium for Harmonization of Clinical Laboratory Results. Dr. Myers served as AACC president in 2007 and as interim AACC CEO, in addition to holding many other association leadership positions, and he recently received AACC’s Outstanding Lifetime Achievement Award in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine.

Dr. Rifai is professor of pathology and the Louis Joseph Gay-Lussac Chair in Laboratory Medicine at Harvard Medical School, and is director of clinical chemistry at Boston Children’s Hospital. As an active member of AACC for 35 years, he founded and serves as co-chair of AACC’s Clinical Chemistry Trainee Council and is editor-in-chief of Clinical Chemistry.