AACC Announces 2021 Election Candidates

Paul J. Jannetto, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, AACC Secretary, has announced the slate of candidates selected by the Nominating Committee for the 2021 AACC elections. The Nominating Committee identifies a single candidate for each open officer and Board position and more candidates than open positions for the Nominating Committee. The online election process will run May 1-31, 2021, and the membership will have the opportunity to vote for or against each candidate on the single-candidate slate and to elect three members to the Nominating Committee through a plurality vote.

The candidates and positions are:


Dr. Shannon HaymondShannon Haymond, PhD, DABCC, FADLM; vice chair, computational pathology; director, clinical mass spectrometry laboratory; director of laboratory research services; co-director, biorepository; department of pathology and laboratory medicine, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago.

Board of Directors

Dr. Joe El-KhouryJoe M. El-Khoury, PhD, DABCC, FADLM; director of clinical chemistry at Yale-New Haven Health; associate professor of laboratory medicine at Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut.

Dr. Bonny VanBonny L. Van, PhD, FADLM, HCLD(ABB); senior consultant, J Michael Consulting, Roswell, Georgia.

Nominating Committee

Dr. Linnea BaudhuinLinnea Baudhuin, PhD, FACMG, DABMGG; professor of laboratory medicine and pathology, division of laboratory genetics and genomics, department of laboratory medicine and pathology, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Dr. Roger BertholfRoger L. Bertholf, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, MASCP; medical director of clinical chemistry, Houston Methodist Hospital; professor of clinical pathology and laboratory medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine.

Dr. Mark CervinskiMark Cervinski, PhD, DABCC; associate professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth; director of clinical chemistry, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, New Hampshire.

Dr. Dennis DietzenDennis J. Dietzen, PhD, DABCC, FADLM; professor of pathology and immunology, Washington University School of Medicine; medical director, laboratory services, St. Louis Children's Hospital.

Dr. Robert FitzgeraldRobert Fitzgerald, PhD, DABCC (CC and CT), FADLM, NRCC; professor of pathology; director of clinical toxicology laboratory; associate director of clinical chemistry laboratory; University of California, San Diego.

Dr. Khushbu PatelKhushbu Patel, PhD, DABCC; director of clinical chemistry and point of care, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; assistant professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.