AACC Announces 2019 Candidates

Thomas M. Annesley, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, Chair of the 2018 Nominating Committee, has announced the slate of candidates selected by the Nominating Committee for the 2019 AACC elections. The online election process will begin in September 2018 when AACC members will have the opportunity to vote for each candidate on the single candidate slate and to elect three members to the Nominating Committee through a plurality vote. Under the new governance approved by the AACC Board of Directors in November 2015, the Nominating Committee identifies a single candidate for each open officer and Board position and more candidates than open positions for the Nominating Committee.

The candidates and positions are:

David Grenache, PhD, MT(ASCP), DABCC, FADLM, chief scientific officer, TriCore Reference Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Steve Kazmierczak, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, professor and scientific director, clinical chemistry and toxicology, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon.

Board of Directors
Mark Marzinke, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, associate professor of pathology, the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and director, pre-analytical chemistry and general chemistry, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland.

Octavia Peck Palmer, PhD, NRCC, FADLM, associate professor of pathology, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and medical director, UPMC Presbyterian, UPMC Shadyside, and Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh automated testing laboratories, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Nominating Committee
Jane Dickerson, PhD, DABCC, clinical assistant professor, University of Washington, and co-director, clinical chemistry, associate director, reference lab services, Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, Washington.

Susan Evans, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, founder and president, BioDecisions Consulting, Los Gatos, California.

Patricia M. (Patti) Jones, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, professor of pathology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, and clinical director of chemistry and metabolic disease laboratories, Children’s Medical Center Dallas, Dallas, Texas.

Amy Saenger, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, associate professor of laboratory medicine and pathology, and scientific director, advanced research and diagnostic laboratory, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Joely Straseski, PhD, MT(ASCP), DABCC, FADLM, associate professor of pathology, University of Utah School of Medicine, and medical director, endocrinology and automated core laboratory, ARUP Laboratories, Salt Lake City, Utah.