AACC Announces 2020 Election Candidates

Anthony A. Killeen, MD, PhD, AACC Secretary, has announced the slate of candidates for the 2020 AACC elections. The 2019 AACC Nominating Committee selected these outstanding candidates from a large number of highly qualified nominees. Per AACC’s governance, the Nominating Committee identified a single candidate for each open officer and Board position and more candidates than open positions for the Nominating Committee.

The online election process will run from May 1-31. During this time, the membership will have the opportunity to vote for or against each candidate on the single-candidate slate and to elect three members to the Nominating Committee through a plurality vote.

The 2020 candidates are:


Stephen R. Master, MD, PhD, FADLM, chief, division of laboratory medicine, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; medical director, Michael Palmieri Laboratory for Metabolic and Advanced Diagnostics; associate professor of pathology and laboratory medicine, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.


Paul Jannetto, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, consultant; laboratory director, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota.

Board of Directors

Christopher McCudden, PhD, FADLM, vice chair, department of pathology and laboratory medicine, University of Ottawa; deputy chief medical and scientific officer, Eastern Ontario Regional Laboratory Association; clinical biochemist, division of biochemistry, department of pathology and laboratory medicine, The Ottawa Hospital; associate professor, department of pathology and laboratory medicine, University of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Christine Schmotzer, MD, chief, division of clinical pathology, University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center; co-director, University Hospitals Diagnostic Institute; medical director, UH Cleveland Medical Center and UHLSF Laboratories, Cleveland, Ohio.

Nominating Committee

Lorin Bachmann, PhD, DABCC, associate professor, department of pathology; co-director, clinical chemistry; co-director, point-of-care testing, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond.

Allison Chambliss, PhD, assistant professor of clinical pathology, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland.

Mari DeMarco, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, FCACB, clinical chemist, clinical associate professor, St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver, British Columbia.

Jane Dickerson, PhD, director, chemistry lab; director, reference lab services; medical director (CLIA license holder), North Clinic; clinical director, Patient-Centered Laboratory Utilization Guidance Services (PLUGS), Seattle Children’s Hospital, Washington.

Corinne Fantz, PhD, DABCC, director, medical and scientific affairs, point-of-care testing, Roche Diagnostics, Indianapolis, Indiana.

T. Scott Isbell, PhD, DABCC, FADLM, associate professor/medical director of clinical chemistry and point-of-care testing, St. Louis University School of Medicine, Missouri.

Nader Rifai, PhD, director of clinical chemistry, Boston Children’s Hospital, Massachusetts.